Board of Directors

Directors on the Light House board share a passion for sustainability and help us achieve our mission by providing strategic direction and oversight. The current Light House Board of Directors comprises dynamic individuals with experience in the fields of environmental management, construction and engineering, and communications and outreach.


John Holland
President & CEO, PHH ARC Environmental Ltd

John Holland (P.Eng., C.Eng., LEED® AP) joined the Light House board in 2008, bringing decades of environmental consulting experience to the boardroom table.

John began his career in design engineering and construction before joining Pinchin West—a firm that provides environmental, engineering, geosciences and health & safety consulting services—where he is currently President & CEO.

John got to know the Light House team well through his work at Pinchin West, having used Light House’s services on a number of occasions: to develop a model for green leases (which promote shared tenant/landlord responsibility for reducing energy consumption), to study the financial impacts of the BOMA Go Green program, and to create a green building toolkit for the RCMP. John sees Light House as a “coherent, ethical, and respected advocate for sustainability” and works hard to guide it toward success.

John also serves on the UBC Faculty of Applied Science Technical Advisory Committee, and is a Fellow of Engineers Canada. He is the former Chair of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC (APEGBC) Environment Committee and has served on the Sustainability Committee.


Bryn Davidson
Principal, Lanefab Design/Build

Bryn Davidson (B.Sc., M.Arch., LEED® AP) designs and builds custom energy efficient homes and laneway houses, and acts as a freelance consultant for governments and businesses seeking to address peak oil and climate change impacts. Bryn’s notable clients include the Southern California Association of Governments, TransLink and the Rocky Mountain Institute.

Bryn was instrumental in building Vancouver’s first laneway house in 2010, and the first net-zero solar powered laneway house in 2012; Lanefab’s designs are now incorporating purple pipe (greywater) systems and designing to Passivhaus standard. Lanefab Passivhaus projects are located in North Vancouver, Tsawassen and San Francisco. Since 2009, Bryn has completed over 50 energy efficient, small infill homes, and is recognized as a tiny house movement advocate; the Rao/D Pod, a 360 sf condo he and his wife designed and lived in for three years, is featured on Inhabitat.

Lanefab’s award-winning (Arthur Erickson Memorial Award 2013, Scotiabank EcoLiving Award 2013, REFBC 2013 Land Award) net positive design is in high demand; Bryn spoke at Tedx Renfrew Collinwood in 2014, and Lanefab’s Dumfries St Solar Lane House was featured in the New York Times on January 22, 2015.


James Boothroyd
Boothroyd Communications

James Boothroyd (BA, M.Phil, MA) now wears two hats, as Senior Policy Advisor for Metro Vancouver’s ground-breaking National Zero Waste Council, and as a consultant for, among others, the directors of a coalition of 14 major national environmental groups, including WWF, Greenpeace and Pembina.

From 2010-2012, James managed David Suzuki Foundation’s Communications Department during a significant cultural shift from conventional advocacy towards public engagement. His public health and environmental clients include the World Health Organization, Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria and the German Technical Cooperation, Canadian HIV Trials Network and Ecojustice.

James is the author of Project Green Bloc, a three-year project designed by Riley Park, Vancouver residents, which tests research and activities which address hyper-consumption and climate change. Project Green Bloc is funded by the Vancouver Foundation, sponsored by Evergreen, and supported by the David Suzuki Foundation.

Freda Pagani

Freda Pagani (Ph.D) is an icon in sustainability – she was a founding director of Cascadia Green Building Council, is a Cascadia Fellow and was given the Lifetime Achievement Award for her work in sustainability from the CaGBC.  She started the UBC Office of Sustainability, which was the first campus sustainability office in the country, by offering it as a zero-cost proposition to administration and funding it with the energy and water saving measures she implemented at UBC.  Freda is a retired architect and teacher and an active multi-media artist.

Alfred V. Waugh
Formline Architecture

Alfred Waugh (Architect AIBC, OAA, MRAIC, LEED® AP) is the president of Formline Architecture, an award-winning architecture firm located in West Vancouver, with clients throughout the Northwest Pacific Region and Canada. The studio specializes in working on environmentally responsible and culturally sensitive projects that reflect and reinforce the values and visions of the client. He was born and raised in Yellowknife, North West Territories, Canada, and acquired a Bachelor of Arts majoring in Urban and Regional Analysis at the University of Lethbridge in 1989, and graduated with honours from UBC School of Architecture in 1993, to become one of the few registered First Nations Architects in Canada. Alfred’s work balances cultural sensitivity and environmental responsibility through the use of sustainable technologies and renewable resources.

Formline Architecture has developed a reputation for finely crafted sustainable buildings including the Squamish Lil’wat Cultural Centre completed in 2008, the First Peoples House at the University of Victoria on Vancouver Island and the UBC Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre in 2017.

Alfred Waugh was selected by Maclean’s (2021) to be on ‘The Power List – 50 Canadians who are breaking ground, leading the debate and shaping how we think and live’.